Skip to main content

Seven New Members appointed to Service Commission

January 17th, 2006

The new commissioners are:

? Gary Dorman (Bangor), Program Director, Foster Grandparents, Penquis Community Action Program

? Patsy Dunton (Augusta), Maine Department of Education, Ex- Officio

? Carla Gagniel (Bernard), Partner, Arden Training & Consulting

? Ron Holmes (New Sharon), Chief Plant Engineer, Wausau Papers

? Kenneth Morse (Norway), Director, Healthy Oxford Hills/Western Maine Health

? Sara Stevens (Bangor), Staff, Congressman Michael Michaud?s Office

? Gilbert Ward (Leeds), Executive Director, Rural Community Action Ministries

Commissioners opting for reappointment:

? Walt Rosen (Brunswick), Retired, National Academy of Science

? Judi Stebbins (Winthrop), Speech Therapist, Griffiths Association

?We are very pleased that such talented and dedicated individuals will be joining or returning to the Commission,? said Paula Gagnon, Commission Chair. ?This is a great team of community leaders to help us promote community service and volunteerism in Maine.?

Maine Commission for Community Service, is a 26 member board appointed by the Governor to foster community service and volunteerism in Maine. It serves as the state liaison for the Corporation for National and Community Service, administering AmeriCorps grants and overseeing AmeriCorps, Senior Corps and Learn and Serve programs in Maine.

For more information on the Maine Commission for Community Service, visit or contact 207.287.8933 or

# # #