Skip to main content

Maine Commission for Community Service Welcomes New Officers

July 10th, 2008

The Maine Commission for Community Service announces the election of new officers for 2008-2010. CarolAnne Dube of Bangor was elected Chair, Fred Schlutt of Orono as Chair Elect, and Mary-Anne Beal of Waterville was elected Vice Chair.

As Chair of the Maine Commission for Community Service, one of the goals Dube’s hopes to reach is, “Positioning Maine as leading the nation in volunteer manager leadership initiatives.” Dube is the Director of Development for St. Joseph Healthcare where she is responsible for the strategic development, planning, oversight, and coordination of St. Joseph Healthcare’s fundraising program.

Schlutt is Development Officer for UMaine Cooperative Extension, and shows his enthusiasm for community involvement by coaching the Bangor Christian High School Softball team as well as volunteering with two local non-profits.

Mary-Anne Beal, a Program Specialist for MSB-Services, is passionate about meaningful service, particularly within the youth sector. “I want to see more youth in leadership roles in community service,” says Beal

The Maine Commission for Community Services’ board is compromised of 24 members that are designated in statute to each represent a facet of the community volunteer service sector. The Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state. They elect officers from their membership and the officers serve two-year terms.

The Maine Commission for Community Service’s mission is to foster community service and volunteerism to meet human and environmental needs in the State of Maine. For more information on the Maine Commission for Community Service please visit us at