Skip to main content

Thirteen Appointed to the Maine Commission for Community Service.

February 11th, 2010

Governor Baldacci appointed thirteen citizens to the Maine Commission for Community Service.  Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state.  The mission of the Commission is to foster community service and volunteerism to meet human and environmental needs in the State of Maine. The list of appointees is as follows: 

  • Jana Boody, Regional Education Representative, Maine Dept. of Education 
  • Debra Eckart, Associate Extension Educator, UMaine Cooperative Extension
  • Susan Hammond, Executive Director, Four Directions Development Corp.
  • Stephen Letourneau, Chief Executive Officer, Catholic Charities Maine
  • Dawn Littlefield, Program Obesity Prevention and Control Program Specialist, Maine Dept. of Health and Human Services
  • Joan McDonald, Chief Executive Officer, Girl Scouts of Maine
  • Andrew McLean, Resident Director, University of Southern Maine
  • Brenda Peluso, Director of Public Policy, Maine Association of Nonprofits
  • John Portela, Sandblaster, Bath Iron Works
  • Kathleen Poulin, Director of Community Programs, Office of Elder Services Dept. of Health and Human Services
  • Rhyan Romaine, Director Resource Development, York County Community College
  • Joel Russ, Director of Development, Learning Works
  • Barbara Wentworth, Director of Community Impact, United Way of York County

The Maine Commission for Community Service builds capacity and sustainability in Maine's volunteer sector by funding service programs, developing managers of volunteers, raising awareness of the scope and impact of the sector, and encouraging an ethic of service. To learn more about the Maine Commission for Community Service visit our web-site at