Skip to main content

Four New Commissioners Appointed to the MCCS Board

June 20th, 2018

Augusta, ME --  The Maine Commission for Community Service is pleased to announce that Governor LePage has recently appointed four new Commissioners to the MCCS Board. The geographic areas of Maine and personal experiences represented by the MCCS Board have been diversified with the addition of Peter Doak (Columbia Falls), Trevor Hustus (Hollis), Luke Shorty (Caribou), and Maria Staples (Hermon).





Peter Doak, Seat 16: Expert in delivery of services to out-of-school or at-risk youth

Mr. Doak has a rich career of public service and is looking forward to coninuing his service as a member of the MCCS Board. He spent 20 years as a professional soldier, 30 years as an educator in both high scool and university settings, and served a term as a State Representative. With in-depth knowledge of service-learning practices in school settings, educational reform, and team building processes Mr. Doak has a wealth of knowledge and experience to contribute to Maine's many communities.




 Trevor Hustus, Seat 6: Representative of a service program for Youth, Camp-Based, or Nation Service Program

Mr. Trevor J. Hustus of Hollis was appointed by Governor Paul R. LePage to the Maine Commission for Community Service on June 7, 2018. Mr. Hustus is the President of the Circle K International Club at the University of Southern Maine, where he works with members to volunteer in the surrounding community. Circle K International is the collegiate branch of Kiwanis International. Mr. Hustus has been a member of the Kiwanis Family since 2013 where he joined Key Club International, rising to the position of Lieutenant Governor of the New England and Bermuda District of Key Clubs. In the Kiwanis Family, Mr. Hustus has performed hundreds of hours of community service through a variety of local and international projects. Mr. Hustus also serves as a Trustee of the University of Maine System and as a member of the MSAD#6 Board of Directors. Mr. Hustus believes that civic and community service is essential to the life and growth in a community. 




 Luke Shorty, Seat 9: Expert in the Delivery of Environmental, Energy, and Housing Services to Communities and People

Mr. Luke Shorty hails from the town of Fairfield, and has a passion for education, leadership, volunteering, the outdoors, and Maine. He holds graduate and undergraduate degrees in Mathematical Science from both Montana State University and University of Maine Farmington. He got hooked on service when he joined AmeriCorps through the Maine Conservation Corp where he did copious amounts of trail work and spent months out in the wilderness. For the last decade Mr. Shorty has been leading schools and educating students throughout the State of Maine, most recently at the Maine School of Science and Mathematics.





Maria Staples, Seat 7: Representative of National Service Program

Ms. Maria Staples has over 30 years of experience working in social services. She has worked with every age group from preschoolers in Head Start to seniors in the Senior Corps Foster Grandparents Program and others in between. Her many years of experience working with Penquis, a well-respected community action agency, and with many volunteers aligns with the MCCS mission to foster service that strengthens communities. Ms. Staples's vision of community service is one in which each citizen gives of his/her time and talent to better our state and communities. Although Maine is large in geographical area, we are all connected like one big neighborhood.



In October 1994, twenty-five citizens were appointed by Governor McKernan to serve as the inaugural Commission members. Since then, each Governor has appointed an average of nine people each year to fill naturally occurring vacancies on the board.

Commissioner terms of service are three years with an option for re-appointment. The Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state. They elect officers from their membership and the officers serve two-year terms.

The seats on the board are designated in statute such that each person represents at least one facet of the community volunteer service sector.