Skip to main content


In October 1994, twenty-five citizens were appointed by Governor McKernan to serve as the inaugural Commission members. Since then, each Governor has appointed an average of nine people each year to fill naturally occurring vacancies on the board.

Commissioner terms of service are three years with an option for re-appointment. The Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state. They elect officers from their membership and the officers serve two-year terms.

The seats on the board are designated in statute such that each person represents at least one facet of the community volunteer service sector.

Commissioners Serving Now

John Portela, Chair
Bath Iron Works
Seat 4: Representative of a local labor organization

F. Celeste Branham, Chair-elect
V.P. for Student Services, University of Maine Farmington
Seat 20: Educators, including representatives from institutions of higher education and local education agencies

David Wihry, Vice-chair
Research Associate, Univ. of Maine Center on Aging
Seat 17: Experts in the Delivery of Human Services to Communities and People

Edward Barrett
City Administrator, City of Lewiston
Seat 21: A representative of local government

Ross H. Cunningham
Lisbon Falls
Seat 15: Representative of the business community

Mandela Gardiner
Coordinator of Volunteer Services 
Catholic Charities Maine
Seat 13: Representative of a Community Based Agency or Organization

Elizabeth Hite
Concord, NH
Maine State Program Officer , CNCS
Seat 24: Ex officio A nonvoting liaison designated by the federal Corporation for National and Community Service (CNCS)

Ron Holmes, Immediate Past Chair
New Sharon
Engineering Manager
URS - Washington Group International
Seat 8: A representative of theState's volunteer community

Beth Lambert
ME Dept of Education
Seat 2: The Commissioner of Education or his/her designee

Robert M. Liscord
Paralegal/Veteran Advocate, Pine Tree Legal  
Seat 23: Experts in the Delivery of Human Services to Communities and People

Nicole M. Pellenz
Senior Vice President, Machias Savings Bank
Seat 1: Representative of the business community

Carol Rancourt
Director of Senior Volunteer Services/RSVP,
Southern Maine Area Agency on Aging
Seat 7: Representative of a National Service program

Barbara Wentworth
President & CEO, United Way of York County
Seat 22: A representative of theState's volunteer community

Joseph Young
Selectman, Town of Fayette
Executive Director, Maine Library of Geographic Information
Seat 19: A representative of local government