Skip to main content

20th Annual Governor’s Service Awards Announced

April 28th, 2008

AUGUSTA – Today, at the State House Hall of Flags, Governor Baldacci and the Maine Commission for Community Service recognized the winners of the 2008 Governor’s Service Awards for their exceptional contributions to Maine communities. At a separate afternoon ceremony, at the Maine State museum, 410 volunteers were inducted to the Roll of Honor for their outstanding service to the state. Inductees have collectively donated 405,100 hours of service.

The Governor’s Service Awards were created in an effort to celebrate and recognize the exemplary work of Maine’s volunteer community. Nominations are accepted November through February from citizens, nonprofits, government volunteer programs, educational institutions, and businesses. The event is hosted annually by the Governor’s Office and the Maine Commission for Community Service as part of National Volunteer Week. This year’s ceremony was sponsored by the National Emergency Response Team.

The following volunteers were recognized in the categories indicated:

Volunteer of the Year - Anne B. Pringle, Portland

National Service Volunteer Award - Irene Diffin, Perry

Outstanding Public Sector Volunteer Award - Tina McLaughlin, Bangor

Excellence in Volunteer Administration Award - Cynthia Smith, Orono

Corporate Volunteerism Award - L.L. Bean, Freeport

Small Business Volunteerism Award - Trans-Tech Industries, Inc., Brewer

Nonprofit Award –The Culinary Arts program at Washington County Community College, Calais

The Governor also presented Exemplary Service Awards to the following:

Joy Kelly of Bar Harbor

Denise Doyon of Biddeford

Patricia Oh of Bowdoinham

Mary Henderson of Brewer

Howard Bliss of Brunswick

Diane Kirkman of Camden

L. J. McPeake of Durham

Joseph Taylor of Ellsworth

Jacquelyn Flynn of Gardiner

Robert Kraus of Kennebunk

Bill & Martha Leavitt of Northport

Beverly Sinclair of North Waterboro

Tom Franklin of Portland

Bruce Hopkins of Portland

Christine Venditti of Rockport

Bill Vickerson of Scarborough.

George Moore of Topsham

Penny Markley of Winthrop

Patricia Galgano of Wilton

Nina Scribner of Yarmouth