Skip to main content

The Maine Commission for Community Service Appoints New Commissioners

October 24th, 2011


DATE:  October 24, 2011

FROM: Krysta Lilly-Brown, Planning and Research Associate
                Maine Commission for Community Service
                19 Union Street, 38 State House Station
                Augusta, ME  04333-0038

Augusta- On Friday October 21 Governor LePage appointed seven new Commissioners and re-appointed 4 Commissioners to the Maine Commission for Community Service.  Commissioners serve 3-year, governor-appointed terms.  From left to right, the picture shows F. Celeste Branham (a new appointee), Susan Lavigne (a new appointee), Mary Catherine Bromberg (a new appointee), Joan McDolald (a re-appointee), Ron Holmes (a re-appointee), Marcia Hartt (a new appointee), Kristie Littlefield (a new appointee), Susan Hammond (a re-appointee), and Lindsey Jean Oliver (a new appointee).  Not shown in this picture are Susan Austin (a new appointee) and Barb Wentworth (a re-appointee). Commissioners come from all over the state and represent a diverse group of both professional and political backgrounds.

F. Celeste Branham is from Farmington and is the Vice President for Student Services at the University of Maine at Farmington.  Susan Lavigne is from Portland and is the Director for both the Foster Grandparents program and the Senior Companions Program for The Opportunity Alliance.  Mary Catherine Bromberg is from Oakland and is the Emergency Home Owner Loan Program Manager with Kennebec Valley Community Action Program.  Joan McDonald is from South Portland and is the Chief Executive Officer for the Girl Scouts of Maine.  Ron Holmes, the Commission’s Vice Chair, is from New Sharon and is an Engineering Manager with URS- Washington Group International.  Marcia Hartt is from Falmouth and is the Public Relations/Media Coordinator with United Insurance.  Kristie Littlefield is from Augusta and is the Social Studies Specialist with the Maine Department of Education.  Susan Hammond is from Bangor and is the Executive Director for Four Directions Development Corporation.  Lindsey Jean Oliver is from Sidney and is a student at Husson University.  Susan Austin is from Portland and is in Community Relations with UNUM.  Barb Wentworth is from Kennebunk and is the Director of Community Impact with the United Way of York County.

For more information about the Maine Commission for Community Service, visit

The Maine Commission for Community Service is the state government partner of the Corporation for National and Community Service, the federal agency that administers AmeriCorps, Senior Corps, and Volunteer Generation programs.

The state Commission builds capacity and sustainability in Maine's volunteer and service communities by funding programs, developing managers of volunteers and service-learning practitioners, raising awareness of sector issues, and promoting service as a strategy to solve local problems.