Skip to main content

Five community representatives appointed by Governor Mills to Volunteer Maine, the state service commission

November 6th, 2019

""AUGUSTA -- Maine Governor Janet Mills has appointed four new commissioners to Volunteer Maine, the state service commission. Additionally, Maine Department of Education (DOE) Commissioner Pender Makin has named Jessica Nixon as her designee to the Volunteer Maine commission. Governor Mills has also reappointed Jennifer Tilton-Flood of Clinton, Maine to serve an additional three-year term.

Mathison Deering, Dexter, Maine: A student at Thomas College in Waterville, Maine, Deering joins the Volunteer Maine commission to represent an individual age 16 to 25 who is a participant in a service program for youth.

Julia Fiori, Portland, Maine: Fiori, a student at the Waynflete School in Portland, Maine, has also been appointed to represent an individual age 16 to 25 who is a participant in a service program for youth.

Matthew L'Italien, Sidney, Maine: A project director at Somerset Public Health in Skowhegan, Maine, L'Italien has been appointed to the Volunteer Maine commission as a representative of a community-based agency or organization.

Jessica Nixon, Augusta, Maine: Nixon, who currently serves as Chief of Staff at the Maine DOE, has been selected as the designee for the Commissioner of Education. The seat reserved for the Commissioner of Education or the commissioner's designee is an ex-officio member of the Volunteer Maine commission.

Lisa Phelps, Brunswick, Maine: A program administrator at the University of Maine Cooperative Extension, Phelps joins the Volunteer Maine commission as an expert in the delivery of educational services to communities and people.

Jenifer Tilton Flood, Clinton, Maine: After joining the Volunteer Maine commission in 2016, Tilton Flood has been reappointed to serve for a second three-year term. Tilton Flood is the chair of Volunteer Maine's Communications Task Force, and serves as a representative of the business community. Tilton Flood is a dairy farmer and a spokesperson for Cabot Creamery Cooperative.

Commissioner terms of service are three years with an option for reappointment. The Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state. They elect officers from their membership and the officers serve two-year terms.

The seats on the board are designated in statute such that each person represents at least one facet of the community volunteer service sector.

Click the link to view a current list of sitting Volunteer Maine Commissioners.

About Volunteer Maine

Volunteer Maine, the state service commission, builds capacity and sustainability in Maine's volunteer sector by funding service programs, developing volunteer managers and service-learning practitioners, raising awareness of the scope and the impact of the volunteer sector, and encouraging an ethic of service. As of October 16, 2019, the Maine Commission for Community Service has adopted the identity Volunteer Maine.

For all media inquiries

Contact: Bryan Roche, communications officer, Volunteer Maine 
Office: 207-624-7836